LibGuides: Clinical Resources: Databases

What is a database?

A library database is an organized, searchable, browsable collection of information and resources. Most library databases contain multiple types of media, including ebooks, videos, images, articles, etc. Faculty, staff, and students can utilize the databases to complete coursework, conduct research, and find information on a variety of health sciences topics. Plus, you pay for them, so why not use them?

Databases

CINAHL with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides fulltext for the top nursing and allied health literature available and covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
Access to over 900 top books, over 500 top journals, thousands of videos and millions of images.
See the full list of ClinicalKey Journals
Ostmed.DR: The Osteopathic Medicine Digital Repository This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic index to the literature of osteopathic medicine.
OVID MEDLINE(R) This link opens in a new window
Covers literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts which include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. Search and access research from the science, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts and humanities fields.

Check out the Research page for additional information on finding articles.

AccessMedicine
Use "Images" filter.
ClinicalKey
Use "Multimedia" filter to search.
ProQuest Health & Medical Collection
Go to advanced search and scroll town to filter by document type. Select 'illustration' or 'image/photograph'.
VisualDx
Patient-specific diagnostic clinical decision support system and reference tool with high-quality images and problem-oriented search. Includes a large collection of dermatological images of skin of color.

Visit the Clinical Images Guide or DEIB Guide for more information and external resources.

Looking for more information on how to utilize the databases? Ask a librarian.

AccessEmergency Medicine - Clerkship Curriculum
Collections of study materials on major emergency medicine clerkship topics. Includes learning objectives and relevant resources for self-study.
AccessMedicine - Clerkship Topics
Collections of study materials on major internal medicine clerkship topics. Includes learning objectives and relevant resources for self-study.
AccessMedicine Flashcards
Includes access to DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination Flashcards and Vanderbilt IM/Peds Rapid Recall Flashcards
AccessMedicine - Infographics
Highly visual infographics of top diagnoses and medical concepts, organized by clinical specialty.
AccessMedicine - Surgery Infographics
Highly visual infographics of conditions and procedures, organized by surgical subspecialty.

Case Files Collection Podcast
Feature a series of conversational, informative podcasts correlated with the cases featured on Case Files Collection, including family medicine, internal medicine, obgyn, and surgery.
Harrison's Podclass
Illuminating and engaging discussions on key principles of internal medicine, around board-style case vignettes from the acclaimed Harrison’s Review Questions.
Run the List
A medical education podcast designed for medical students, new residents, and all learners looking for a high-yield review in internal medicine. Concise episodes guide listeners through the diagnosis, management, and clinical pearls for common internal medicine problems.
S2D: The Symptom to Diagnosis Podcast
A case-based discussion of signs, symptoms and diagnostics tests to improve clinical reasoning and evidence-based practice.
The Scope Podcast
Produced by the College of Osteopathic Medicine, episodes will focus on the medical school experience and how it helps shape future physicians.