LibGuides: BIOL 310, Dr. Eleni Nikitopoulos: Home

NYIT Library Databases

NYIT students and faculty have access to over 200 library databases. The NYIT Library subscribe to a wide range of databases to support your research needs, including encyclopedia databases, newspaper databases, statistical databases, and academic journal research databases.

Library Databases are a good place to find credible and trustworthy information for your research. Below, you will find the recommended databases for your BIOL 310 course.

Academic Journal/Research Article Database

Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, scholarly multi-disciplinary database with over 7,000 publications
ProQuest Central
Multidisciplinary database covering over 160 subject areas including business, health, technology social sciences, and much more

Keyword Searching and Boolean Connectors Guide
As mentioned during your library instruction class, the best way to search the academic journal research databases is through keyword searching rather than Natural Language Search. You can combine keywords using Boolean Connectors. Attached is a step-by-step guide to searching with keywords and Boolean Connectors.

Background Information/Topic Overview

Gale Virtual Reference Library
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. If you are looking for topic overview/ background information, GVRL is a good place to start!
CQ Researcher
In depth analysis on “hot button” issues in the news
Credo Reference
Multi-disciplinary dictionaries and encyclopedic resources. Nearly 1,000 reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually.

Newspaper Database

InfoTrac Newsstand
Newspaper database that draws from 1,100 newspaper across the world.

InfoTrac Newsstand Search Tips

Use the "Publication Search" function if you would like to search for news articles from one particular newspaper.

If you perform a normal basic search, the database will draw from all available newspaper. Click on "Advanced' if you want to combine keywords using boolean connectors.

Statistical Database

Statista
Premier database for getting quantitative data and statistics on a wide variety of subjects.

Statista Search Tips

Keep an eye on the small icon next to the article titles in the search result

you will receive a single statistical table if you click on an article with this icon.

you will receive comprehensive studies and reports that include a number of data tables on a given topic by clicking on an article with this icon.

*On the left-hand side of the result page, under "Studies and Report," click on "Dossier" if you are looking for a comprehensive statistical study

Accessing Library Databases

You can access the library databases through the NYIT library website: www.nyit.edu/library
Use the following link to see the full list of NYIT databases: http://libguides.nyit.edu/az.php

*Login required (with your MyNYIT login) for off-campus access. No login required if you are trying to access the databases from school computers or Wifi.

Need Research Help?

Trying to figure out what databases to use for your research can be overwhelming. If you ever need help with your research:

Stop by the library and ask for a librarian
Email or Chat with a NYIT Librarian using the following link: http://libanswers.nyit.edu/