Students often ask: why create a database account?
Most databases require you to create an account to access all features and resources. Creating an account personalizes the experience and allows you to track your database history, including the completion of review questions and cases. You can also bookmark or favorite textbooks (and specific sections) and articles for future review. Further, you must create an account in order to redeem any CME/MOC credits acquired through usage of the database.
Your Access profile works and syncs with the following McGraw Hill databases: AccessMedicine, AccessEmergency Medicine, and Case Files Collection.
Find information on the Access app.
1. Visit the NYITCOM Library website, https://nyit.edu/library/medicine.
2. Click the blue Databases button.
3. Select one of the McGraw Hill databases, such as AccessMedicine. You will be prompted to log in with your NYIT Credentials if off campus.
4. Click on Sign In | New York Inst of Technology in the upper right-hand corner.
5. Select Sign In or Create a Free Access Profile, then click the Create a Free Access Profile button.
6. Complete the form that appears to create an account. Use your NYIT email.
Your Elsevier credentials work and sync with the following databases/tools: ClinicalKey, Scopus, and Mendeley, a reference manager.
Find information on the ClinicalKey app.
1. Visit the NYITCOM Library website, https://nyit.edu/library/medicine.
2. Click the blue Databases button.
3. Select ClinicalKey. You will be prompted to log in with your NYIT credentials if off campus.
4. Click Register in the upper right-hand corner.
5. Complete the form that appears to create an account. Use your NYIT email.
Your LWW account works and syncs with the following LWW Health Library Databases: Medical Education, Clerkship/Clinical Rotations, Board Review Series, and Bates' Visual Guide.
1. Visit the NYITCOM Library website, https://nyit.edu/library/medicine.
2. Click the blue Databases button.
3. Select one of the LWW Health Library databases, such as LWW Health Library, Medical Education. You will be prompted to log in with your NYIT Credentials if off campus.
4. Click New York Institute of Technology in the upper right-hand corner.
5. Click the Create a Free Personal Account button.
6. Complete the form that appears to create an account. Use your NYIT email.
1. Visit the NYITCOM Library website, https://nyit.edu/library/medicine.
2. Click the blue Databases button.
3. Select JOMI. You will be prompted to log in with your NYIT credentials if off campus.
4. Click the blue Sign Up Button in the upper right-hand corner.
5. Complete the form that appears to create an account. Use your NYIT email.
Find information on the UpToDate app.
1. Visit the NYITCOM Library website, https://nyit.edu/library/medicine.
2. Click the blue Databases button.
3. Select UpToDate. You will be prompted to log in with your NYIT credentials if off campus.
4. Click the orange Register tab in the upper right-hand corner.
5. Complete the form that appears and the verification process to create an account. Use your NYIT email.
Find information on the VisualDx app.
1. Visit the NYITCOM Library website, https://nyit.edu/library/medicine.
2. Click the blue Databases button.
3. Select VisualDx. You will be prompted to log in with your NYIT credentials if off campus.
4. Click Create a Personal Account at the bottom of the page.
5. Complete the form that appears to create an account. Use your NYIT email.