Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New York Tech Returns: What to know about using New York Tech Libraries for Fall 2022. View the latest information

EENG 489 Capstone Project: Finding Technical Literature: Books and E books

This guide is for students In the EENG-489 design capstone project. It includes databases, research tips, and other resources to finalize your capstone project.

E-Reference Resources

E-reference resources allow you to access encyclopedias, dictonaries and other general references from any computer.

 

Credo Reference Logo Credo Reference  This is a collection of core reference sources.  A good place to start your research.

 Access Engineering from Mc Graw-Hill. Authorative content. Immediate solutions.

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Engineering.  Choose from one of the subjects listed or use the search box to find a specific topic. Access Engineering

AccessScience from McGraw-Hill Education. The science authority.

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. Choose from one of the subjects listed or use the search box to find a specific topic. Access Science

 

  

   Gale Virtual Reference Library contains dictionaries, encyclopedias & handbooks

 

 

Oxford Reference Collection contains dictionaries & encyclopedias

 

Search Tips: Encyclopedias & Directories

Use Reference sources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, directories, almanacs) to:

  • get background information on your topic
  • explore topics for research or a paper
  • familiarize yourself with an unknown topic

When searching for articles in an online encyclopedia, just type in your topic.  Here are some examples:

  • mechanical engineering
  • electrical engineering
  • industrial engineering
  • nanotechnology
  • civil engineering
  • operations management

Searching for E books in the Library Catalog

When searching for e books (electronic books) or books in the online catalog, one way to do it is to select "Keyword" (AND) and to use these components:

  • keywords, the nouns that describe your topic
  • Boolean operators, (AND, OR)
  • quotation marks for phrases
  • Advanced Search tab for more options

Here are some examples:

   "chemical engineering"
     engineering AND urban
     materials AND environment

E-Books in Engineering

Access Engineering from Mc Graw-Hill. Authorative content. Immediate solutions.

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Engineering.  Choose from one of the subjects listed or use the search box to find a specific topicAccess Engineering

 

 

AccessScience from McGraw-Hill Education. The science authority.

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. Choose from one of the subjects listed or use the search box to find a specific topic. Access Science

 

 

 eBook Engineering Core Collection contains titles from top book publishers, including Artech House, ASM International, Elsevier, John Wiley & Sons, Institution of Engineering & Technology, and more

 

eBook Collection on EbscoHost provides online versions of current scholarly and academic press books, as well as popular trade books for academic libraries. 

 

 

Browse the stacks for print books

In addition to searching in our library catalog, you can browse the stacks for our  print collection.  The following are the Library of Congress call numbers for books on engineering.


R856-857 Biomedical Engineering
T Technology
T55.4-60.8 Industrial engineering
T385 Computer graphics
TA Engineering (general), Civil engineering
TA 349-359 Mechanics of engineering
TA 401-492 Materials of engineering, construction
TA 630-820 Structural engineering, geotechnical engineering

TC Hydraulic engineering

TD Environmental engineering
TE Highway engineering
TF Railroad engineering, operations
TG Bridge engineering
TH Building construction
TJ Mechanical engineering, machinery
TJ163 Power resources
TJ210.2-225 Robotics
TK Electrical engineering, electronics, nuclear engineering
TK5101-6720 Telecommunications
TK 7800-8360 Electronics
TL Motor vehicles, Aeronautics, Astronautics
TN Mining engineering, metallurgy
TP Chemical technology
TS Manufacturing
VM Naval architecture. Marine engineering

© 2022 New York Institute of Technology