LibGuides: FCWR -161, Dr. Michael Schiavi : Recommended Databases

Library Databases

What are library databases?

A library database is a searchable electronic index of published reliable resources. When writing a research paper, it is extremely important that you use reliable and trustworthy information sources. Using the Internet for research is perilous because there are many unreliable sources out on the world wide web.

An easy way to ensure that you are getting reliable information for your research paper is to use the library databases!!

What types of information can I find using the NYIT library databases?

You can find a wide variety of reliable information sources through the NYIT library databases, including academic journals, encyclopedia articles, newspaper articles, statistical sources, and more.

Can I use the NYIT library databases from home?

Yes!! However, if you are using the library databases from off-campus, you will need to login using your myNYIT login. No login is required if you are accessing the databases from a school computer or on the school wifi.

Academic Journal Databases for finding Research Articles

ProQuest Central
Multidisciplinary database covering over 160 subject areas including business, health, technology social sciences, and much more
Academic Search Complete
A comprehensive scholarly, scholarly multi-disciplinary database with over 7,000 publications

Keyword Searching and Boolean Connectors Guide
Remember, the best way to search through Academic Journal Databases is by using keywords and Boolean connectors rather than using Natural Language Search. The attached guide will give you a basic breakdown on using keywords and Boolean Connectors.

Encyclopedia Databases for finding Background Information

Gale Virtual Reference Library
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources. If you are looking for topic overview/ background information, GVRL is a good place to start!
CQ Researcher
In depth analysis on “hot button” issues in the news

Newspaper Database

InfoTrac Newsstand
Newspaper database that draws from 1,100 newspaper across the world.

Statistical Database

Statista
Premier database for getting quantitative data and statistics on a wide variety of subjects.

Library Databases

You can access the library databases through the NYIT library website: www.nyit.edu/library
Click the following link for the full list available databases: Databases A-to-Z

*Login required (with your MyNYIT login) for off-campus access. No login required if you are trying to access the databases from school computers or Wifi.