Architecture & Design: Art & Architecture Library News

Art & Architecture Library - Fall 2021

Welcome Back -  Fall 2021

Please read this update about the Art & Architecture Library supporting the School of Architecture & Design this Fall. We welcome you into the library space & collections, virtual programs, and reconnecting with librarians devoted to subject expertise, and developing information literacy. Virtual services continue including live librarian chat, research appointments, and online library classes. Faculty and Instructors, students may now request or be referred to research appointments through myNYIT / EAB Navigate. In addition, look for the Architecture Library Resource Page in the NY Tech Canvas LMS Commons. Import this page into your sections and students retain library access without leaving the online course. 

New Library Catalog & Recent Acquisitions

This summer the New York Tech Libraries updated the Library Catalog search engine which enables search across library collections, select databases, and Open Access publishing on one page. The catalog also includes citation generators and permalinks; essential for crediting sources and building bibliographies.

Recent acquisitions based on faculty recommendations include,  

• Disinformation and you: identify propaganda and manipulation / Jones, Marie D., 1961- 
• Problem-solving and critical thinking for designers / Piotrowski, Christine M., 1947
• Transmaterial next : a catalog of materials that redefine our future / Brownell, Blaine Erickson, 1970-

• Studio Gang architecture / Studio Gang Architects (Firm), author.

• View all the Latest New Additions

Database Highlights - Social Explorer, New York Times & Wall Street Journal

• Link here and review Social Explorer, this mapping database pairs demographics with easy to navigate geospatial visualizations tools. Set up an account using email@nyit.edu. The database also enables importing original data for comparison with ongoing demographics. View this additional guide for more details. 
   
• Link here for Faculty, students, and staff can access The New York Times Digital Edition through an Academic Site License. First-time registrants MUST use their @nyit.edu email address to register. Upon activation, users will have full access to NYTimes.com and NYTimes smartphone apps.
• Historical New York Times Resources include: nNew York Times Machine : The TimesMachine lets you see the full pages of the NYTimes as they appeared, from 1851 through 2002. Log in using your New York Times Digital Edition academic pass.New York Times 1980 - present. Searchable Proquest database.
   
• Link here for students, faculty and staff to set up their Wall Street Journal account once, using NYIT email. Upon successful activation, users will have full access to WSJ.com, WSJ App, WSJ newsletters and WSJ podcasts.

Upcoming Events

This Fall 2021, all are welcome to register for Online Library programs. Additional drop-in programs introduce brief topics such as #NYTechSketch to take with you and participate on your own time. Follow @nyitart_arch_library for timely updates.

Looking forward to continued collaboration and information services support,