LibGuides: Architecture & Design: see also, Art History Research

Online Resources for Teaching Art History

ACLS Humanities E-Book (HEB)
ArchNet
Art HIstory Teaching Resources (AHTR)
Canadian Online Art Book Project
Published by the Art Canada Institute
MIT Press Open
Hemispheric Institute
The Hemispheric Institute gathers artists, scholars, writers, learners, and activists from across the Americas.
more...less...
We focus on social justice and research politically engaged culture and performance. We share this work in digital archives and amplify it through dialogues and public scholarship, residencies, publications, and gatherings. Our dynamic, multilingual network crosses disciplines and borders, and is grounded in the fundamental belief that artistic practice and critical reflection can spark lasting cultural change.
Museum Image Collections
OASIS search results for 'Architecture'
Open Access Architectural Content
Open Access ebooks on the Built Environment
Published by University College London.
Open Collections from JStor/ArtStor
Open Access collections of images and primary sources from libraries, museums, and archives around the world.
Smithsonian Open Access Smithsonian Open Access portal provides an inroad to copyright-free digital materials from the far-ranging collections of the Smithsonian Institution. As a freely available web repository accessible to anyone with a browser connection, Smithsonian Open Access opens the intellectual doors of its many divisions, presenting everything from data sets and 3D models to archival material, field notes, biological specimens, and images of artwork, all without restrictions on reuse. In 2020, the Smithsonian released 3 million digital objects into the Open Access portal, and at present over 4.5 million digital objects are included. The materials are drawn from the Smithsonian’s nine research centers, nineteen museums, institutional archives and museums, as well as the National Zoo, representing the arts, the sciences, the humanities, and cultural history.
World Monuments Fund
World Monuments Fund (WMF) is the leading independent organization devoted to safeguarding the world’s most treasured places to enrich people’s lives and build mutual understanding across cultures and communities.
BASIRA (Books as Symbols in Renaissance Art
BASIRA is an open-access database of representations of books and other documents in art.

Open Textbooks for Art History

Course Materials

Open Educational Resources for the Digital Arts & Humanities (OER)
Resources & Recordings from Opening Art and Design Education for a Just and Sustainable World
Project Himalayan Art
Comprehensive resources for teaching about Tibetan, Himalayan, and Inner Asian art and cultures, with a focus on cross-cultural exchange.
SmartHistory - The Center for Public Art History (OER)
Global Architecture History Teaching Collaborative
History & The Arts from Open University

Art History Library Catalogs and Bibliographies

OpenBibArt
OpenBibArt is an open-access art historical database unifying the contents of four related datasets. Researchers may freely search in French or English to discover a wide range of citations from among nearly 1.2 million journal articles, books, and exhibition and auction sales catalogues published between 1910 and 2007 on topics in the arts and archeology from late Antiquity to the mid-2000s.

The datasets include: the Répertoire d’Art et d’Archéologie (RAA); the Répertoire International de la Littérature de l'Art/International Repertory of the Literature of Art (RILA); and the Bibliographie d’Histoire de l’Art/Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
Getty Library Catalog - Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA). These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007.
Art & Architecture Collection at the New York Public Library

Writing and Citing about Art History

The Art of Writing about Art by Suzanne Hudson; Nancy Noonan-Morrisey
ISBN: 9781285442587
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
A Short Guide to Writing about Art by Sylvan Barnet
ISBN: 9780205886999
Publication Date: 2014-01-15
Writing about Visual Art by David Carrier
ISBN: 9781581153286
Publication Date: 2003-01-01

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

A Companion to Modern Art by Pam Meecham (Editor); Dana Arnold (Series edited by)
ISBN: 9781118639849
Publication Date: 2018-02-13
The Concise Dictionary of Art Terms by Michael Clarke
ISBN: 9780199569922
Publication Date: 2010-08-20
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics by Michael Kelly (Editor-In-Chief)
ISBN: 9780199747108
Publication Date: 2014-07-02
The Oxford dictionary of art and artists. by Chilvers, Ian.
ISBN: 9780191782763
Publication Date: 2017

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary dictionaries and encyclopedic resources. Nearly 1,000 reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Art encyclopedia for visual arts and culture.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Contains: Dictionaries & Encyclopedias in variety of fields

Databases

Academic One File Select This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Multi-disciplinary: Arts, humanities, social sciences, science and technology
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary full text database (core).
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text or indexed journal articles, books and images in the fine and decorative arts and architecture.
Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art.
Fine Arts: Gale OneFile This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Drama, music, art history, and filmmaking
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Resource for digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.
JSTOR Language & Literature Collection This link opens in a new window
Subjects: African studies, art & art history, education, women studies, Latin American studies, Asian studies, American literature

Biographical Dictionary of British and Irish Architects 1800-1950
Contains information on more than 45,000 people
RKD Artists & Biographical Database
Biographical database from Netherlands Institute for Art History / RKD – Nederlands Instituut voor Kunstgeschiedenis. Covers thousands of artists from the middle ages to the present day. Also includes information on art dealers, collectors, and historians.

Art History Websites

Heilbrunn History of Art Timeline
Smarthistory
ADAM: Art, Design, Architecture & Media Information Gateway
Art History Research.net
by Dr. Christopher L.C.E. Witcombe
Arcyclopedia
Art History indexing site by John Maylon which covers over 9000 artists, art movements, artworks, and art sites.
CARTA - Collaborative ART Archive
Includes a record of websites within the scope of eight (8) collection topics, including: Art Criticism; Art Fairs and Events; Art Galleries; Art History/Scholarship; Artists Websites; Arts Education; Arts Organizations; and Auction Houses.
more...less...
Art historians, critics, curators, humanities scholars and many others rely on the records of artists, galleries, museums, and arts organizations to conduct historical research and to understand and contextualize contemporary artistic practice. Currently, much of the art-related materials that were once published in print form are now available primarily or solely on the web and are thus ephemeral by nature. Without a sustained, coordinated approach to archiving this web-based art material, a significant portion of this content is at risk of disappearing. (from website).

Important Art History Libraries & Collections

Art & Architecture Collection at the New York Public Library
Getty Library Catalog - Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and to the Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA). These citation databases, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007.
Morgan Library
NYARC Discovery
NYARC Discovery is a research tool from the New York Art Resources Consortium libraries of the Brooklyn Museum, The Frick Collection, and The Museum of Modern Art.
Watsonline (Thomas J. Watson Library at the Metropolitan Museum of Art)

ARTH 602 ' Aesthetics and Theory' - Kaufmann

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Request Scans from books or print journals

Library Info Chat

This Is Not Propaganda (ebook) by Peter Pomerantsev
(close the page once you have finished viewing/downloading the book)
The Art of Writing about Art by Suzanne Hudson; Nancy Noonan-Morrisey
ISBN: 9781285442587
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
The Singularity Is Near by Ray Kurzweil
(close the page once you have finished viewing/downloading the book)

Library Resources for ARTH 602 - Aesthetics and Theory:

eBooks & Essays

Comic Propaganda Pages - Log In with @nyit.edu google account

This is not propaganda, Chapter 3 & 4 - Log In with @nyit.edu google account

‘Nature and Function of Critical and Creative Thinking’ (ebook)
'Fact Over Fake; A Critical Thinker's Guide to Media Bias and Political Propaganda' (ebook)
'How to Read a Paragraph, the Art of Close Reading' (ebook)
'A Thinker's Guide to Ethical Reasoning' (ebook)

Propaganda, Bernays, Edward L., 1891-1995 (ebook)

The Age of Spiritual Machines : When Computers Exceed human Intelligence, Kurzweil, Ray (ebook)

Fake News, Propaganda, and Plain Old Lies : How to Find Trustworthy Information in the Digital Age, Barclay, Donald A. (ebook)

Problem Solving and Critical Thinking for designers, Piotrowski, Christine M (ebook)

How Propaganda Works, Stanley, Jason (ebook)

Living with Robots, Dumouchel, Paul (ebook)

Playing Smart : on Games, Intelligence and Artificial Intelligence, Togelius, Julian (ebook)

The Curious Person's guide to fighting Fake News, McAfee, David G.(ebook)

The Myth of Artificial Intelligence : Why Computers Can't Think the Way We Do, Larson, Erik John (ebook)

Bad News : Why We Fall for Fake News, Brotherton, Rob (ebook)

Disinformation and You : Identify Propaganda and Manipulation, Jones, Marie D. (ebook)

Ethics in Design and Communication : critical perspectives, Scherling, Laura (ebook)

LaGarde, J. Fact vs. Fiction : Teaching Critical Thinking Skills in the Age of Fake News,

Bostrom, N. Superintelligence : Paths, Dangers, Strategies (ebook)

Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance : An Inquiry Into Values, Pirsig, Robert M. (ebook)

The Singularity is Near : When Humans Transcend Biology, Kurzweil, Ray (ebook)

AI : its Nature and Future, Boden, Margaret A. (ebook)

Books in Print

Real World AI: A Practical Guide for Responsible Machine Learning, Alyssa Rochwerger

The Quest for Artificial Intelligence : A History of Ideas and achievements, Nilsson, Nils J.

Artificial Intelligence : An Illustrated History : from Medieval Robots to Neural Networks, Pickover, Clifford A.

McFarland, E. Blockchain Wars: The Future of Big Tech Monopolies and the Blockchain Internet,

Artificial Intelligence: 101 Things You Must Know Today About Our Future - Updated Edition for Post-Covid-19 World, \ Rouhiainen, L

This is Not Propaganda : Adventures in the War against Reality, Pomerantsev, Peter (on order)

Comic Art Propaganda : a Graphic History, Strömberg, Fredrik (PN6714 .S77 2010)

New York Times (* Register for free access to the NYTimes.com here using your NYIT email address)

Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers

Wall Street Journal (* Register for free access to the WSJ.com here using your NYIT email address)
Washington Post
Times, The (London, UK)
Financial Times (Full-Text Delay: 1 month)
Search across newspapers with the News and Media Databases

Image Credit: L. Kaufmann.

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Resource for digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Art encyclopedia for visual arts and culture.
Bridgeman Art Library Archive-Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Collection of digital images for architecture and the fine and decorative arts.

Zotero: Citation management tool
by Eduardo Rivera Last Updated Oct 3, 2024 553 views this year

Notable Museum Collections

New Books for Art History and Appreciation

Journals & Periodicals

Art historical periodicals/journals and magazines provide documentation and interpretation of art and ideas when they occurred. These include critiques, analyses, interviews of artists, individual works, exhibitions, and gallery reviews. Search across 1000s journals using indexed and/or full-text databases.

`Read your favorites with the Magazine Reader, Browzine App`

BrowZine
by Sebastien Marion Last Updated Feb 28, 2024 44 views this year

Art History Video

Alexander Street videos This link opens in a new window
Videos- subscription is per title. If the video you need is not available as full access, please email askalibrarian@nyit.edu
Kanopy Video Streaming This link opens in a new window
Movies and Documentaries

Masterworks Film Collection

Film Databases:

Kanopy Video Streaming This link opens in a new window
Movies and Documentaries
Swank Streaming Films This link opens in a new window
Videos- subscription is per title. If the video you need is not available as full access, please email askalibrarian@nyit.edu

Art & Art History Curation

Art Historians, Curators, and Exhibition Designers collect, interpret, and preserve the Arts. This field has a long history of exclusion and lacking diverse representation. Practitioners in the field have published these guides to move forward with more equitable recognition and collection of artists and their creative works

Art Market and Art Provenance Research

Trace the history of artwork ownership and valuations.

Art markets persistently influence art historical research. They serve as a place for identification, evaluation, and contextualization when new works or art collections change hands.
Art Markets document and define points in history for works of art, artist, or an artistic movement. When artworks come to market, these become dates in the artwork's provenance history. Auction listings and sales contribute to the story of an artwork.
Read more about the art market, in the Oxford Encyclopedia or dive into the market research with these sources,

Image: Board Auction by Daumier, Honoré 2/26/1808, Marseille, France, 19.5 × 29.5 cm, paper, chalk
10.2.1879, Valmondois - CC0. https://www.europeana.eu/item/2021012/app_si_A_2002_175

Invaluable.com
Dashboard of ongoing auction listings.
Askart.com
Auction Records and research tools since 1987.
Getty Provenance Index
Wildenstein Plattner Institute
The WPI presents a selection of 21,000+ sales catalogues dating pre-1945, many of which are annotated. Search for sales catalogues by entering a keyword or by city, country, and/or date.
Digital Benin
Digital Benin assembles resources on more than 5,000 artifacts looted from the Kingdom of Benin (modern-day Edo State, Nigeria) by British forces in 1897 and subsequently dispersed around the world.

Architecture & Design: see also, Art History Research

Introduction

Welcome to the Art History Reserach Guide. Here you can find:

Writing art history including artist statements, research papers, analysis, and criticism.

Contact librarians for help.

JUMP TO:

Recommended Image Collections by Topic

Digital Art History Directories

Art & Art History

Architecture & Interior Design

Online Resources for Teaching Art History

Open Textbooks for Art History

Course Materials

Art History Library Catalogs and Bibliographies

Writing and Citing about Art History

See Also,

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

See Also,

Databases

Art History Websites

Important Art History Libraries & Collections

ARTH 602 ' Aesthetics and Theory' - Kaufmann

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Library Resources for ARTH 602 - Aesthetics and Theory:

eBooks & Essays

Books in Print

New York Times (* Register for free access to the NYTimes.com here using your NYIT email address)

Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers

Image Credit: L. Kaufmann.

Notable Museum Collections

New Books for Art History and Appreciation

Journals & Periodicals

Journals & Periodicals

Read your favorites with the Magazine Reader, Browzine App

Art History Video

Film Databases:

Art & Art History Curation

Art Market and Art Provenance Research

Trace the history of artwork ownership and valuations.

References

`Read your favorites with the Magazine Reader, Browzine App`