LibGuides: Architecture & Design: Home

Welcome! You are in the Right Place for Architecture & Interior Design Research.

NEW! Trial through October 18th,

Features:

4,000+ international project documentations of building projects from 35 years of DETAIL (from issue 1/1988)
Search functions and filter options according to main keywords, such as building type, material, year of construction or DETAIL issue topic
True-to-scale construction plans facilitate the adoption and application of existing building solutions
Intro Video (1m12s)

Detail Inspiration This link opens in a new window
The image and reference full-text database DETAIL Inspiration contains more than 4,000 international project documentations of building projects from 35 years of DETAIL (from issue 1/1988)

/ Popular Topics

NEW ! ARE & NCIDQ Exam Registration Guide

SoAD Lectures & Events Bibliography

Find Drawings, Plans, and Sections with the help of Images Film & Media guide

/ Visit Course Guides for help from the library for a specific course.

/ Emerging Critical Topics including affordable housing, anti-racism, sustainability, and materials

Architecture and Design Databases

Click on any link below to open a database. Enter NYIT ID when prompted.

Architectural Publications Index This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text or indexed journal articles, books and images in the fine and decorative arts and architecture.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index of journal articles on architecture, landscape architecture, historic preservation, and interior design.
JSTOR Language & Literature Collection This link opens in a new window
Subjects: African studies, art & art history, education, women studies, Latin American studies, Asian studies, American literature
Bridgeman Art Library Archive-Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Collection of digital images for architecture and the fine and decorative arts.

Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new window
MadCad This link opens in a new window
Building codes online.
Greenfile This link opens in a new window
Subjects: All aspects of human impact to the environment. Coverage includes global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more
Gale One File Environmental Studies & Policy This link opens in a new window
Environmental studies focuses on the physical and social aspects of environmental issues.

Greenhomebuilding
more...less...
Information about environmentally friendly, sustainable architecture and natural building, using renewable energy, local and recycled materials, and incorporating principles of conservation. Includes resource links and book and video recommendations.
CumInCAD
CumInCAD is a Cumulative Index about publications in Computer Aided Architectural Design supported by the sibling associations ACADIA, CAADRIA, eCAADe, SIGraDi, ASCAAD and CAAD futures.
more...less...
Open Access

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Access to full-text or indexed journal articles, books and images in the fine and decorative arts and architecture.
Bridgeman Art Library Archive-Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Collection of digital images for architecture and the fine and decorative arts.
Fine Arts & Music Collection This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Drama, music, art history, and filmmaking
JSTOR Language & Literature Collection This link opens in a new window
Subjects: African studies, art & art history, education, women studies, Latin American studies, Asian studies, American literature

Access Engineering This link opens in a new window
Engineering, Biomedical, Chemical, Environmental sustainable, Energy Petroleum.
Gardening, Landscape & Horticulture Collection This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Gardening, home decorating and remodeling, architecture, landscaping, and other areas of horticulture
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Subjects: Engineering and technology
ScienceDirect- Energy Collection This link opens in a new window
SD is especially helpful for engineering and interdisciplinary research. For example journals and books cover subjects including architecture, structural engineering, materials science, renewable energy and sustainability practices.

Precedent Research

Research for Precedents in Architecture. Refer to,

Precedent Research Worksheet
Architecture Research, Precedent Analysis Guide
see also, Images & Media
see also, Reference Books

Written by, Andrea Palladio, Italian, 1508-1580; Illustrated by, Christoph Krieger, German, b. Nuremberg (?), d. Venice ca. 1590; Illustrated by, Johann Chrieger, German, active 16th century; Published by, Dominico de' Franceschi, Italian, active 1557-1586; Dedicated to, Giacomo Angarano, Italian; Dedicated to, Emanuele Filiberto, Italian, 1528-1580. 1570. I quattro libri dell'architettura di Andrea Palladio. Place: The Metropolitan Museum of Art, http://www.metmuseum.org. https://library.artstor.org/asset/MMA_IAP_10311575760.

Global Architecture & Design History

New York State Heritage - Digital Collections
SAH Archipedia
SAH Archipedia is an authoritative online encyclopedia of the built world published by the Society of Architectural Historians. Contains histories, photographs, and maps.

A Global History of Architecture by Francis D. K. Ching; Mark M. Jarzombek; Vikramaditya Prakash
Call Number: NA200 .C493 2017
one ebook and one reserve copy available in each library.

When beginning historical research, look to databases that provide overview for person, place or point in time,

Primary, Secondary and Tertiary Sources
by Eduardo Rivera Last Updated Jan 13, 2021 500 views this year

Historic American Buildings Survey/Historic American Engineering Record/Historic American Landscapes Survey
Documentation produced through the programs constitutes the nation's largest archive of historic architectural, engineering, and landscape documentation. The HABS/HAER/HALS Collection is housed at the Library of Congress.

Find comprehensive information on a specific built work and develop a Precedent Study. Architecture students should have the "Ability to incorporate relevant precedents into architecture and urban design projects." (NAAB student performance criteria 11,Use of Precedents.)

The Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS)
The Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) collections are among the largest and most heavily used in the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress.
more...less...
The collections document achievements in architecture, engineering, and design in the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building types and engineering technologies
Pacific Coast Architecture Database
A range of information on the buildings and architects of California, Oregon and Washington. Also included are professionals in other fields who have made an impact on the built environment, such as landscape architects, interior designers, engineers, urban planners, developers, and building contractors.
Skyscraper Page
A collection of thousands of drawings of skyscrapers from around the world. Browse by continent, country, region, architect, building type, status, or by special diagram. Results are displayed in order by height.
Great Buildings Online
Images, Models, Drawings, Architect Biographies.
Cities and Buildings Database from the U. of Washington

Architecture & Urban Planning History - Key Sources

NYS-Cultural Resource Information Center
Over more than 50 years, SHPO has collected information on thousands of buildings, structures, objects, sites, and districts throughout New York State. These records, as well as scanned documentation and photographs, are available for you to search in CRIS.

National Register of Historic Places
The National Register of Historic Places is the official list of the Nation's historic places worthy of preservation. Authorized by the National Historic Preservation Act of 1966, the National Park Service's National Register of Historic Places is part of a national program to coordinate and support public and private efforts to identify, evaluate, and protect America's historic and archeological resources.
History Quest DC
Washington DC, Historic Preservation Office
Los Angeles Conservancy, Historic Places of Los Angeles

Canadian Register of Historic Places

Citations and Academic Integrity

Writing Citations

1. Confirm the citation style such as MLA, Chicago and APA required by your professor.

2. The Purdue Online Writing Lab - Chicago Manual of Style with Citation Machine provides general guidelines how to cite different works.

3. Build your bibliography with Citation Generators such as Knight Cite; and Citation Builder or the internal reference list using MSOffice.

What needs Citations?

Cite Maps & Photographs of a Building - Architectural drawings and Models are subject to copyright.
Images, Diagrams, and Figures:
- Include the following information:
  - Author (Artist or Architect); Title; Date; Location/Repository; Material/Medium; Dimensions (if applicable)
  - Write descriptive captions when including images in the text and include a bibliography entry.
Images from Books, Articles and Images found on the Web.
Include the artist's name, the year the work was created, and the institution (e.g. gallery or museum) that houses it (if applicable), followed by the city where it is located, the URL where you found the image, and when.

Example:

Albers, Josef (German-American painter, theorist, 1888-1976). 1930. Walter Gropius,
Ascona Sommer 30. Place: The Josef and Anni Albers Foundation, http://www.albersfoundation.org.https://library.artstor.org/asset/AALBERT_10311268499.

Tommaso and Franca Chieco Dean’s Atelier Studio

Campo Baeza, Alberto. 1985. S Fermin Public School. https://library-artstor-org.arktos.nyit.edu/asset/AWSS35953_35953_29400503.

". . .continuing your studies across different domains prove to be beneficial in life, both in and out of architecture."- Emily O'Connell speaking about Professor Campo Baeza.

More about Campo Baeza in the Library Collection

Campo Baeza, Alberto. 1985. S Fermin Public School. https://library-artstor-org.arktos.nyit.edu/asset/AWSS35953_35953_29400503.

Canadian Register of Historic Places

Hi! I'm here to help You!

Vanessa Viola

She/Her/Hers

Email Me

Subjects: Architecture, Design, Fine Art

Librarian

Sebastien Marion

Email Me

Contact:

New York City Campus Library
1855 Broadway
New York, NY, 10023

646.273.6102

Subjects: Architecture, Design, Fine Art, Business, Education, Web Search

Architecture & Design: Home

Welcome! You are in the Right Place for Architecture & Interior Design Research.

NEW! Trial through October 18th,

/ Popular Topics

NEW ! ARE & NCIDQ Exam Registration Guide

Global Architectural History

Maps & GIS

Precedent R esearch

Professional Practice

SoAD Lectures & Events Bibliography

Find Drawings, Plans, and Sections with the help of Images Film & Media guide

Writing Citations

/ Visit Course Guides for help from the library for a specific course.

/ Emerging Critical Topics including affordable housing, anti-racism, sustainability, and materials

Architecture and Design Databases

Precedent Research

Research for Precedents in Architecture. Refer to,

Precedent Research Worksheet

Architecture Research, Precedent Analysis Guide

Global Architecture & Design History

Find comprehensive information on a specific built work and develop a Precedent Study. Architecture students should have the "Ability to incorporate relevant precedents into architecture and urban design projects." (NAAB student performance criteria 11,Use of Precedents.)

Architecture & Urban Planning History - Key Sources

Citations and Academic Integrity

Writing Citations

1. Confirm the citation style such as MLA, Chicago and APA required by your professor.

2. The Purdue Online Writing Lab - Chicago Manual of Style with Citation Machine provides general guidelines how to cite different works.

3. Build your bibliography with Citation Generators such as Knight Cite; and Citation Builder or the internal reference list using MSOffice.

What needs Citations?

Cite Maps & Photographs of a Building - Architectural drawings and Models are subject to copyright.

Images, Diagrams, and Figures:

Example:

Related Tutorials and Videos:

Tommaso and Franca Chieco Dean’s Atelier Studio

". . .continuing your studies across different domains prove to be beneficial in life, both in and out of architecture."- Emily O'Connell speaking about Professor Campo Baeza.

Hi! I'm here to help You!

Librarian

See Also, related guides...