Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New York Tech Returns: What to know about using NYIT Libraries for Fall 2021. View the latest information

Architecture & Design

Subject Guide and Course Reading Lists

School of Architecture & Design Course Guides

Library resources relative to courses. 

"Book is a treasure of knowledge...." by Rupa Panda is licensed under CC BY 2.0

ARCH 202

ARCH 272

ARCH 362

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Request Scans from books or print journals

Library Info Chat

Library Resources - ARCH 362 - Kim

  • General library resources,
  • Digital resources,
  • Online maps and mapping
  • Searching for plans, photos of buildings and urban spaces

ARCH 401 - Integrative Design V

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Request Scans from books or print journals

Library Info Chat

 

Library Resources for ARCH 401:

https://bit.ly/libraryARCH401 (log in with @nyit.edu)

Building Systems | Structural Materials | Building Skins

- Search the Library Catalog to locate books/ebooks from the bibliography. Expand your search by considering the broader/narrower/related linked  keywords.

- Select and Search multiple databases to locate records that point to articles written in professional/trade journals such as Detail Magazine, Architecture Design, A+U, case studies, and books. 

- Expand the search across other database platforms such as Acess Engineering (ie, timber), GreenFile, and CuminCad

- Search Materials across databases and websites
 

ARCH 473 - CM Contracts

ARTH 602 ' Aesthetics and Theory' - Kaufmann

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Request Scans from books or print journals

Library Info Chat

 


 

Library Resources for ARTH 602 - Aesthetics and Theory:

Looking for additional readings? Search the Tech Library Catalog or Libraries Worldwide.

 

eBooks & Essays

Comic Propaganda Pages - Log In with @nyit.edu google account

This is not propaganda, Chapter 3 & 4 - Log In with @nyit.edu google account

‘Nature and Function of Critical and Creative Thinking’ (ebook)
'Fact Over Fake; A Critical Thinker's Guide to Media Bias and Political Propaganda' (ebook)
'How to Read a Paragraph, the Art of Close Reading' (ebook)
'A Thinker's Guide to Ethical Reasoning' (ebook)

Propaganda, Bernays, Edward L., 1891-1995 (ebook)

The Age of Spiritual Machines : When Computers Exceed human Intelligence, Kurzweil, Ray (ebook)

Fake News, Propaganda, and Plain Old Lies : How to Find Trustworthy Information in the Digital Age,  Barclay, Donald A. (ebook)

Problem Solving and Critical Thinking for designers, Piotrowski, Christine M (ebook)

How Propaganda Works, Stanley, Jason (ebook)

Living with Robots, Dumouchel, Paul (ebook)

Playing Smart : on Games, Intelligence and Artificial Intelligence, Togelius, Julian (ebook)

The Curious Person's guide to fighting Fake News, McAfee, David G.(ebook)

The Myth of Artificial Intelligence : Why Computers Can't Think the Way We Do, Larson, Erik John (ebook)

Bad News : Why We Fall for Fake News, Brotherton, Rob (ebook)

Disinformation and You : Identify Propaganda and Manipulation, Jones, Marie D. (ebook)

Ethics in Design and Communication : critical perspectives, Scherling, Laura (ebook)

LaGarde, J. Fact vs. Fiction : Teaching Critical Thinking Skills in the Age of Fake News,

Bostrom, N. Superintelligence : Paths, Dangers, Strategies (ebook)

Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance : An Inquiry Into Values, Pirsig, Robert M. (ebook)

The Singularity is Near : When Humans Transcend Biology, Kurzweil, Ray (ebook)

AI : its Nature and Future, Boden, Margaret A. (ebook)

Books in Print

Real World AI: A Practical Guide for Responsible Machine Learning, Alyssa Rochwerger 

The Quest for Artificial Intelligence : A History of Ideas and achievements, Nilsson, Nils J.

Artificial Intelligence : An Illustrated History : from Medieval Robots to Neural Networks, Pickover, Clifford A. 

McFarland, E. Blockchain Wars: The Future of Big Tech Monopolies and the Blockchain Internet, 

Artificial Intelligence: 101 Things You Must Know Today About Our Future - Updated Edition for Post-Covid-19 World, \ Rouhiainen, L

This is Not Propaganda : Adventures in the War against Reality, Pomerantsev, Peter (on order)

Comic Art Propaganda : a Graphic History, Strömberg, Fredrik (PN6714 .S77 2010)

New York Times  (* Register for free access to the NYTimes.com here using your NYIT email address)

Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers

 Image Credit: L. Kaufmann.

General Arts Research and Research Management

ARCH 705 - Cody

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Request Scans from books or print journals

Library Info Chat

Still image from Video attachment to the ICRA 2018 paper:
Accurate and Adaptive In situ Fabrication of an Undulated Wall using
an
On-Board Visual Sensing System Various clips during the construction of the steel wire mesh are shown.

Library Resources for ARCH 705 - Cody

SCANNED READINGS and RESEARCH OUTPUT for THIS COURSE  (be sure to login with @nyit.edu)

DATABASES:


EBOOKS and JOURNALS: 

CITATIONS:

  • Citation formats differ by course and by journal requirements. Pay close attention to citation formats when writing proposals.
  • Consult the Citation Guide

Public Libraries provide additional resources:

 

DSGN 362

AIAS - Freedom by Design / Cody

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Request Scans from books or print journals

Library Info Chat

Image from Freeport Memorial Library Collection, 
https://nyheritage.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/collection/p15281coll12/id/707/rec/1

 

Library Resources for Freedom by Design - Grove Street Theater

LINK to Research Scratchpad.

Architectural Archives

Historical Newspapers

Historical Maps

  • FIMO / NYS / Freeport / Index Map 5...LINK

Demographics

ARCH 301 - Campani

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Request Scans from books or print journals

Library Info Chat

 

Library Resources for ARCH - 301 

Looking for additional readings? Search the Tech Library Catalog or Libraries Worldwide.

 

Books on Reserve

Richard Plunz, History of Housing in NYC on Reserve in Ed Hall and Manhattan Libraries

Roger Sherwood, Modern Housing Prototypes on Reserve in Ed Hall and Manhattan Libraries

Hilary French, Key Urban Housing of the 20th Century on Reserve in Ed Hall and Manhattan Libraries

General Arts Research and Research Management

ARCH 501 / 502 Thesis 2021-2022 - Kim

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Request Scans from books or print journals

Library Info Chat

General Library Orientation Slidedeck

 

Still image from Video attachment to the ICRA 2018 paper:
Accurate and Adaptive In situ Fabrication of an Undulated Wall using
an
On-Board Visual Sensing System Various clips during the construction of the steel wire mesh are shown.

Library Resources for ARCH 501 - 502 

DATABASES:


ORGANIZING RESEARCH & CITATIONS

THESIS TOPIC Research Strategies

  • When defining a thesis topic, determine the component parts. If the topic is fairly broad, start with the narrowest concept.  If your topic is very narrow, begin your research using broad terms. 
  • Review your results and refine your search as necessary. Be flexible with hyperlinked related terms. Expect to broaden the terms if you need more information. AND narrow the terms to limit the amount of information retrieved.
  • Synthesize the information. Determine if and what additional information is needed.
  • Actively seek out alternative views as a way of testing your theory.
  • Begin your research in the architectural literature.
    • Familiarize yourself with your topic before beginning your research. This includes determining the appropriate synonyms and related terms relative to your topic.
    • Modify your search as necessary, including searching related resources or additional databases not obviously linked to your subject, (ie Engineering, or Horticulture). These sources may include relevant information.
    • Know the nature and parameters of the reference tool(s) you are searching for. Certain reference works only cover particular time periods or may not be comprehensive in scope. For instance, most online databases begin their coverage in the 1970s-80s.
    • Use all possible reference tools, including bibliographies and footnotes which can lead you to other sources.

- Tips Summary attributed to Architecture Librarian Barbara Opar.

EBOOKS and JOURNALS: 

 

 

© 2020 New York Institute of Technology