This page provides sources and tips for research and writing about Architecture History, the History of Cities and Design History in the following sections:
A Global History of Architecture by 
When beginning historical research, look to databases that provide overview for person, place or point in time,
Cite Maps & Photographs of a Building - Architectural drawings and Models are subject to copyright.
Images, Diagrams, and Figures, include
Author (Artist or Architect); Title; Date; Location/Repository; Material/Medium; Dimensions (if applicable)
Descriptive captions when including images in the text and include a bibliography entry.
Images from Books, Articles and Images found on the Web.
Include the artist's name, the year the work was created, and the institution (e.g. gallery or museum) who provided the image. followed by the city where it is located, the URL where you found the image, and when.
| Albers, Josef (German-American painter, theorist, 1888-1976). 1930. Walter Gropius, Ascona Sommer 30. Place: The Josef and Anni Albers Foundation, http://www.albersfoundation.org.https://library.artstor.org/asset/AALBERT_10311268499. |
 |
Better Travel Log Images:
Precedents in Architecture by 
Sir Banister Fletcher's Global History of Architecture by 
The a-Z of Modern Architecture by 
Vernacular Architecture by
It’s a website with audio recordings of interviews with architects. It had originally been a series of audio cassettes with accompanying slides produced in the 1980’s, but it more recently became available digitally. Pidgeon Digital is a subscription resource.
1956 recording of interviews with architects Ernest Kump, Gordon Bunshaft, Eero Saarinen, Philip Johnson, Mies van der Rohe, Walter Gropius, and Richard J. Neutra, as collected and edited by John Peter. You can hear them at this website : https://okcmod.com/2012/10/my-vintage-vinyl-find-conversations-regarding-the-future-of-architecture-1956/
Smithsonian Oral History Program has preserved the distinct voices and human memory of the American art world in more than 2,300 interviews. The purpose of the Archives’ Oral History Program is to create unique, lengthy exchanges between interviewers and narrators, conversations that yield a richness of detail and a sense of character not available in other primary sources. You can search interviews with architects here.
Over 200 oral histories and interviews of predominantly Chicago-based artists and designers drawn from three collections.
In 2015 the Austin History Center (AHC), with assistance from a grant from the Austin Foundation for Architecture, began conducting oral history interviews with Austin-area architects as one component of the AHC Architectural Archives' goal of preserving the city's architectural heritage.
The UCLA Center for Oral History Research (COHR) conducts in-depth, multi-session oral history interviews with individuals who have been a part of the history of Los Angeles and its many communities.
With the sponsorship of AIA Virginia, this project seeks to record the lives of architects who practice architecture in Virginia today.
This collection contains sound files and transcripts of oral history interviews conducted with former Art and Architecture faculty members. The collection was created by Eileen Broido, working on a celebration of the history of the College in 2007. It also contains some biographical information compiled by Broido.
