Interior Design: Course Guides & Workshops

FALL 2025

Select your course: 

Faculty & Lecturers can request In-class Library Tutorials and/or Import the Art & Architecture Library Canvas Module. 

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

AAID 160

ARCH 162

OPEN Library Tutorial Worksheet

See also, 

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Request Scans from books or print journals

Library Info Chat

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Make a Research Appointment with a Librarian

REQUEST Scans from books or print journals

Library Resources for ARCH 222:

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Request Scans from books or print journals

Library Info Chat

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Library Info Chat

Library Resources for ARCH - 301 F2024
Chipperfield, David & Fernandez-Isla, Jose Maria & M. M. Santolaya Heredero. Social Housing. 2001. https://jstor.org/stable/community.16518900.

Books on Reserve

• Richard Plunz, History of Housing in NYC on Reserve in Ed Hall and Manhattan Libraries
• Roger Sherwood, Modern Housing Prototypes on Reserve in Ed Hall and Manhattan Libraries
• Hilary French, Key Urban Housing of the 20th Century on Reserve in Ed Hall and Manhattan Libraries

Expand search results with linked keywords

su: Ecological houses Design and construction

su: Low Income Housing

Vachon, John, photographer. Row houses with white steps. Baltimore, Maryland. United States Baltimore Maryland, 1938. July. Photograph. https://www.loc.gov/item/2017762546/.

Journals on Housing Design

Articles & Reports

The mediums, Articles, Journals, and documentaries provide the latest information on a topic. Read and examine these articles for the latest research and new arguments emerging from research and practice. Though not comprehensive, these suggested articles represent a portion of what has been debated through the literature, 

• Housing and Development Articles and Reports from CQ Researcher Database
• Dive Deeper: Examine these and Related Journals focused on HOUSING issues. 

History of Housing

• Examine and Select from articles published in the scholarly journal, Architectural Histories

Typology

• Avilla-Royo, Raül, Sam Jacoby, and Ibon Bilbao. 2021. “The Building as a Home: Housing Cooperatives in Barcelona.” Buildings: An Open Access Journal for the Built Environment 11 (4): 1–21. (PDF)
• Kurz, Daniel. 2022. “Diversität Macht Stadt : Stadtsiedlung Reitmen Schlieren, Haerle Hubacher, Steib Gmür Geschwentner Kyburz Und Raderschall Partner = [Diversity and the City : Reitman Urban Housing Development in Schlieren, Haerle Hubacher with Steib Gmür Geschwentner Kyburz and Raderschall Partner].” Werk, Bauen + Wohnen, no. 1–2 (January): 25–33. (PDF)

Future of housing

• Start with this Search Query "Future of Housing" across architecture databases.
• This search query points to "Future Housing" from beyond the disciplines. 
• Search Across Databases such as, ProQuest Central, and Art & Architecture Full Text to focus on Trade or Scholarly Articles published in the past 5 years. 

The Impact of Zoning on Housing Development

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment 

Library Info Chat

Books and tools for Structural Design found in the library,

• Calculators and Spreadsheets for common Building and Construction problems in AccessEngineering database
• Video and Documentary in AccessEngineering database

Databases for Structural Design Research

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Library Info Chat

Library Resources for ARCH - 301/302

Looking for additional readings? Search the Tech Library Catalog or Libraries Worldwide.
 

>>> 04.04.24 Continued Conversations: Publishing and Gathering Feedback

>>Site Demographics Worksheet

Books on Reserve

• Richard Plunz, History of Housing in NYC on Reserve in Ed Hall and Manhattan Libraries
• Roger Sherwood, Modern Housing Prototypes on Reserve in Ed Hall and Manhattan Libraries
• Hilary French, Key Urban Housing of the 20th Century on Reserve in Ed Hall and Manhattan Libraries

More in the Stacks and Ebooks

• Browse HOUSING subdivided geographically in the STACKS:   NA7100-7884
• Browse HOUSING by Form in the STACKS: NA4150-4160

Journals on Housing Design

Articles & Reports

The mediums, Articles, Journals, and documentaries provide the latest information on a topic. Read and examine these articles for the latest research and new arguments emerging from research and practice. Though not comprehensive, these suggested articles represent a portion of what has been debated through the literature, 

• Housing and Development Articles and Reports from CQ Researcher Database
• Dive Deeper: Examine these and Related Journals focused on HOUSING issues. 

History of Housing

• Examine and Select from articles published in the scholarly journal, Architectural Histories

Typology

• Avilla-Royo, Raül, Sam Jacoby, and Ibon Bilbao. 2021. “The Building as a Home: Housing Cooperatives in Barcelona.” Buildings: An Open Access Journal for the Built Environment 11 (4): 1–21. (PDF)
• Kurz, Daniel. 2022. “Diversität Macht Stadt : Stadtsiedlung Reitmen Schlieren, Haerle Hubacher, Steib Gmür Geschwentner Kyburz Und Raderschall Partner = [Diversity and the City : Reitman Urban Housing Development in Schlieren, Haerle Hubacher with Steib Gmür Geschwentner Kyburz and Raderschall Partner].” Werk, Bauen + Wohnen, no. 1–2 (January): 25–33. (PDF)

Future of housing

• Start with this Search Query "Future of Housing" across architecture databases.
• This search query points to "Future Housing" from beyond the disciplines. 
• Search Across Databases such as, ProQuest Central, and Art & Architecture Full Text to focus on Trade or Scholarly Articles published in the past 5 years. 

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Request Scans from books or print journals

Library Info Chat

Library Resources for ARCH 327 Reading List:

bit.ly/LibARCH362

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

Schedule a Research Appointment

Library Chat Service

2/3/25; 2/11/25 outline

1. Library website, catalog, and databases to gather information and images on your assigned project;

• Example search su:(city planning) AND su:(history). 
• Specialized print sources. 

2. Tertiary Information.

3. AI Prompts and Applications

4. Secondary Sources typically found in peer reviewed journals and monographs. Rely on Full Text/Index Databases to retrieve abstracts and or citations,

5. Primary Sources

• Image Collections
• Architectural Archives 
• Newspapers; Oral Histories

6. Developing your Outline and Attribute credit to primary and secondary sources. 

• Chicago Citations Guide
• Citing and Captioning Images (pdf)

Tertiary Sources

The place we start and gather background research, Tertiary sources combine information and related topics. Summarize one or more bodies of knowledge on a topic. Point to the commentary and original primary sources.

Examples:

About Pueblo Civilizations:
“First Civilizations: 12,000 Bc-Ad 1500.” 2001. In History of American Architecture: Buildings in Their Cultural & Technological Context, 1–34. University Press of New England.

Orum, Anthony M. 2022. The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Urban and Regional Studies. [Enhanced Credo edition]. Wiley Blackwell. https://search-ebscohost-com.nyit.idm.oclc.org/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,uid&db=cat04612a&AN=ny.280947&site=eds-live&scope=site., 

• Ready Reference Databases
• Credo Reference
• Oxford Reference

TIPs: 

Review background research in specialized encyclopedic works;
Follow the trail of bibliographies/endnotes found in those sources;

Secondary Sources

Written after the fact, in response to, or including analysis of an original writing, artwork, design plan or building.

• Interpret, Critique, or Explain Primary Sources
• Found in scholarly and editorial journals. Search across databases such as Academic Search Complete, Avery, and Google Scholar

Example: Dunn, Sarah, and Martin Felsen. 2019. “Behind the Wheel: Charles Darwin and Superstudio Do the Driving.” Architectural Design 89 (4): 94–99. doi:10.1002/ad.2462. (Article includes analysis of Superstudio ideas (secondary source) and explains new plans (primary).

Primary Sources

An original source plan proposal or study, documentation from the original event; original plans and drawings, personal correspondence, works of art, historical newspaper articles,

Finding primary sources, 

• [NAME] + [PRIMARY SOURCE FORMAT]
• Example Search Terms: Jane Jacobs letters; Archigram Archives
• Searches for: 'architect' archives; digital collections, museum collections

Example: Tange, Kenzo. 1987. “A Plan for Tokyo, 1986.” Japan Architect 62 (November): 8–45. 
"The article presents a proposal for the structural reorganization of the Coastal City of Tokyo and Tokyo Bay City in Japan. ...The author states that the proposal was developed in cooperation with commissions from government agencies and from the city of Tokyo. "

Discussion: This is a journal. Why is it a primary source?

Finding Primary Sources on the Web

• Digital Collections from museums, large universities, public libraries like the NYPL and LOC
• Internet Archive
• Digital Public Library of America
• Municipal Archives and Historical Societies Ex: NYC Municipal Records Tax Photographs
• TIP: The collection search tool provides information itself. 

Library Databases with Images and Media

Newspapers 

• National through Local newspaper databases

Architectural Archives

•  Partial List of Architectural Archives from CMU Library

• TIP: Person + Archive OR Person + Papers Ex: Archigram Archives; Superstudio Archives

AI Prompt s and Applications

1. Keyword Search and Literature Review Prompts

2. microsoft.copilot.com >> Define Narrower search terms for Example: Tactical Ubanism'

3. Summarize a pdf article with Explain Paper 

4. See connections between articles with LitMaps

Browser Plugins for Academic Research

• LibKey Nomad

Add this extension to your browser to connect web searches to full text subscriptions behind paywalls.

• Google Scholar PDF Reader

Summarize articles and find connected papers.

• Download Zotero and Zotero Connector for sorting and annotating academic sources. 

Reference:

Cristiano Toraldo di Francia, (Artist), Italian, born 1941, Adolfo Natalini, (Artist), Italian, born 1941, Gian Piero Frassinelli, (Artist), Italian, born 1939, Roberto Magris, (Artist), Italian, born 1935, Superstudio, (Artist), founded 1966-1982, and Alessandro. The Continuous Monument: St. Moritz Revisited, Project Perspective. Drawing date: 1969. Cut-and-pasted printed paper, color pencil, and oil stick on board, 16 7/8 x 19 1/8" (42.9 x 48.6 cm). Museum of Modern Art (New York, N.Y.). https://jstor.org/stable/community.14645193.

See Also

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Request Scans from books or print journals

Library Info Chat

Library Resources for ARCH 291/791 :

• Research Starter: Food Security

• Quick Search results: Food Insecurity in Arkansas

• Nationwide Statistics on Food Security

• 3/17/21 : Worksheet and links to maps

• ArcGIS - Living Atlas

• Data.gov

• GIS Research Guide

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Library Resources for ARCH 401:

• Search the Library Catalog to locate books/ebooks from the bibliography. Expand your search by considering the broader/narrower/related linked keywords.
•  Search multiple databases to locate records that point to articles and case studies written in professional/trade journals
• Expand the search across ebooks database platforms such as Access Engineering (ie, timber), GreenFile, and CuminCad 
• Books from your syllabus below.

☕THIS WEEK:  

1. Visit the video page (https://libguides.nyit.edu/videos) for tutorials about library collections, tools and services.  

2. Follow: @nyitlibraries and @nyitart_arch_library 

🥐 TODAY: PRECEDENT INFORMATION Gathering 🥐🍭🏥 
(Take your time; Help one another; Ask Questions) 
Complete this activity to improve your search skills across library collections, academic databases, and recognized quality web sites/blogs. The focus is on locating plans, sections, and elevations, along with building systems, materials, and site plans. 

At each step ask yourself, have I found additional information? Does the definition provide a variety of drawings and diagrams? Does this source provide additional design or client context?  We will use these projects for examples: 

1. Search credible websites:

• ArchDaily*,  

• Dezeen,  

• DesignBoom (ie, mullion),  

• Archisoup (ie, parti), 

Example: Swimming Hall, Finckensteinallee, Berlin Germany - Veauthier Meyer Architected 

https://www.archdaily.com/789584/swimming-hall-finckensteinallee-veauthier-meyer-architects-veauthier-meyer-architects 

https://www.dezeen.com/2016/04/09/veauthier-meyer-architects-restoration-nazi-era-swimming-pool-hall-schwimmhalle-finckensteinallee-berlin/ 

2. Search database indexes for specific articles about each precedent

Locate the search bar and choose Architecture, Design....Avery Index, Detail Inspiration, Greenfile. 

Swimming Pool, Toro, Spain - Vier Architects  

“Swimming Pool in Toro.” 2012. Detail (English Ed.) 1 (January): 54–57. https://research.ebsco.com/linkprocessor/plink?id=bd39f7f6-5250-3a99-bea2-2c703ba6ce42.   PDF  

Swimming Pool, Freemens School, London - Hawkins Brown Architects 
Foges, Chris. 2018. “Open Swim: Precise Detailing and Understated Drama Create an Unexpectedly Serene Sports Facility.” Architectural Record 8 (206): 86–89. https://research.ebsco.com/linkprocessor/plink?id=3b7466f4-0e8a-3b44-9f4c-5ab92c68b518.  PDF 

Swimming Centre, San Fernando de Henares, Spain - Mansilla + Tuñón 
Croquis. 2012, n.161, entire issue (410p.). photos, ports, sketches, models, ill, elevations, sections, details, plans, site plans, computer drawings, aerial photos, axonometric drawings, diagrams  
https://research.ebsco.com/linkprocessor/plink?id=e827a871-9a9b-3e67-8c79-10cf8beb8ce5 

PRINT >>> El Croquis Printing holding info  

3. Search & Browse Books for broader context and inspiration:

Locate the search bar and choose Books & Media. Click one of the following advanced searches keywords (subject headings):  
TIP:  Search further by clicking on related subject headings inside these search results; notice the available table of contents,

Swimming Pools 

Swimming pools—Design and construction 

su: Sports facilities Design and construction 

su: Recreation facilities 

Anticipated Outcomes: 

• You can locate architecture textual and visual information, in a variety of print and digital publications by academic and industry creators. 

• You can differentiate between multiple types of sources (print vs. digital or databases vs. direct e-journal interfaces, for example) and why these distinctions can be important when doing library research on architectural topics  

• Recognize the merits and shortcomings of both scholarly/peer reviewed and popular forms of information 

• Distinguish among several ways to access digital resources, including discipline-specific article databases, electronic journal home pages, and large aggregators such as Google Scholar 

back to the Architecture & Design Research Guide 
Search Library Collections
 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian
 

Fall 2025 Artist & Precedent Research

>> ARCH 201 Library Orientation and Artist_PrecedentResaerch.docx (handout)

Examples of Architecture Diagrams and Drawings

• From the ArtStor Image Collection
• ArchDaily Images / Drawings / Buildings
• Diagrams on ArchNet

Artist Research:

• Art History Research Page

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Request Scans from books or print journals

Library Info Chat

Still image from Video attachment to the ICRA 2018 paper:
Accurate and Adaptive In situ Fabrication of an Undulated Wall using
an On-Board Visual Sensing System Various clips during the construction of the steel wire mesh are shown.

Library Resources for ARCH 423 

From the Reading List:

PreFabricated Systems Principles of Construction (ebook)

Loblolly House : elements of a new architecture.

The Green Studio Handbook: Environmental Strategies for Schematic Design
The Architect's Studio Companion: Rules of Thumb for Preliminary Design (ebook)

Mechanical and electrical equipment for buildings / Walter T. Grondzik, Architectural Engineer, Ball State University; Alison G. Kwok, Professor of Architecture, University of Oregon

Modern Construction Handbook (ebook)

The Student Handbook of Professional Practice (ebook)

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Request Scans from books or print journals

Library Info Chat

Library Resources for ARCH 473:

•  AIA Contract Document Comparisons Information 

• Google Folder with Scan Requests (login with your @nyit.edu email)

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Request Scans from books or print journals

Library Info Chat

ARCH 475 - Computer Aided Management and Administration

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Request Scans from books or print journals

Library Info Chat

>Excerpt from AIA Guide to Contract Documents 2007.

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Library Resources for ARCH 501 - 502 
 

Database Sets:

• Architecture, Design, and Fine Art 

• Engineering  - including the ASME Digital Collection; and IEEExplore

• Primary Sources and
• Image Collections
   

Geographic Information Systems (GIS)

• GIS Guide Page
• Introduction Locating Geospatial Information (Slide Deck)

Organizing Research & Citations

• Framing your Research Question (2 min video)
• Constructing a Research Question (4 min video)
• Writing Citations 
• Zotero (good for group work)

Deposit your B. Arch Thesis (Spring 2026)

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Request Scans from books or print journals

Library Info Chat

Still image from Video attachment to the ICRA 2018 paper:
Accurate and Adaptive In situ Fabrication of an Undulated Wall using
an On-Board Visual Sensing System Various clips during the construction of the steel wire mesh are shown.

Library Resources for ARCH 705 - Cody

SCANNED READINGS and RESEARCH OUTPUT for THIS COURSE  (be sure to login with @nyit.edu)

DATABASES:

• Architecture, Design and Fine Art DBs

• Engineering DBs - including the ASME Digital Collection; and IEEExplore

EBOOKS and JOURNALS: 

• ebooks block; including the eBook Engineering Core

• DEMO SEARCH: Materiality across selected databases.

CITATIONS:

• Citation formats differ by course and by journal requirements. Pay close attention to citation formats when writing proposals.
• Consult the Citation Guide

Public Libraries provide additional resources:

• NYPL 

 back to Interior Design Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Request Scans from books or print journals

Chat with a Librarian

Required and Suggested Texts:

see Also Evidence Based Design on the Interior Design Guide

back to Interior Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Request Scans from books or print journals

Library Info Chat

History of Interior Design DSGN 362

Part I: Library Refresh 

Part II: Exercise - Background Research for Exploring Topics

Part III: Book a Research Appointment

OPEN the WORKSHEET 

 to Interior Design Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Request Scans from books or print journals

Library Info Chat

Required and Suggested Texts:

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Request Scans from books or print journals

Library Info Chat
 

Library Collections for ARTB 651 - Critical Thinking and Writing - SP2023

This brief guide highlights library sources and services most relevant to this course. Contact librarians whenever you need a hand furthering your ideas. 

• Search the Library Catalog or Libraries Worldwide for sources in from the select bibliography.

• Kristine Stiles and Peter Selz, editors.  Theories and Documents of Contemporary Art: A Sourcebook of Artists' Writings is on Reserve in the Art & Architecture Library. Click Here to view the Stiles Table of Contents. Then, Request Scans from books or print journal

General Design Theory 

The Art of Innovation: Lessons in Creativity from IDEO, America's Leading Design Firm, by Tom Kelley (Links to an external site.) (Link will open in new tab.), (ebook)

Change by Design, Revised and Updated: How Design Thinking Transforms Organizations and Inspires, Tim Brown  (ebook)
Creative Confidence: Unleashing the Creative Potential Within Us All, Tom Kelley (Links to an external site.) (Link will open in new tab.), (ebook)

The Design Method, The: A Philosophy and Process for Functional Visual Communication, Eric Karjalouto (Links to an external site.) (Link will open in new tab.) 
Design for How People Think: Using Brain Science to Build Better Products 1st Ed., John Whalen  (Links to an external site.) (Link will open in new tab.)(ebook)
Design Is Storytelling, Ellen Lupton (Links to an external site.) (Link will open in new tab.)
Design Thinking: Understanding How Designers Think and Work, Nigel Cross, (Links to an external site.) (Link will open in new tab.) 
The Design Thinking Toolbox: A Guide to Mastering the Most Popular and Valuable Innovation Methods 1st ed., by M. Lewrick, P. Link, L. Leifer   (Links to an external site.) (Link will open in new tab.)
Graphic Design Thinking: Beyond Brainstorming, by Ellen Lupton (Links to an external site.) (Link will open in new tab.) (ebook)
A Whole New Mind : Why Right-Brainers Will Rule the Future (Links to an external site.) (Link will open in new tab.), Daniel Pink (ebook)

Graphic Design
Design Literacy: Understanding Graphic Design, Steven Heller (Links to an external site.) (Link will open in new tab.), (ebook)
Don’t Make Me Think, Revisited: A Commonsense Approach to Web Usability, Steve Krug  (Links to an external site.) (Link will open in new tab.)
How to Think Like a Great Graphic Designer, Debbie Millman (Links to an external site.) (Link will open in new tab.) (ebook)
79 Short Essays on Design, Michael Bierut, (Links to an external site.) (Link will open in new tab.) (ebook)

Games/Animation
Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration, Ed Catmull. (president of PIXAR) (Links to an external site.) (Link will open in new tab.) (ebook)
Critical Gaming: Interactive History and Virtual Heritage, Professor Erik Champion (Links to an external site.) (Link will open in new tab.), (ebook)
Reality Is Broken: Why Games Make Us Better and How They Can Change the World, Jane McGonigal (Links to an external site.) (Link will open in new tab.), (ebook)
From Barbie to Mortal Kombat : Gender and Computer Games, Justine Cassell, Henry Jenkins (Links to an external site.) (Link will open in new tab.),  (ebook)
Simulation and its Discontents, Sherry Turkle (Simulation and Visualization) (Links to an external site.) (Link will open in new tab.), 

3D-Product Design
Alone Together: Why We Expect More from Technology and Less from Each Other. by Sherry Turkle (Links to an external site.) (Link will open in new tab.) (ebook)
Emotional Design: Why We Love (or Hate) Everyday Things, Donald Norman (Links to an external site.) (Link will open in new tab.), 
The Design of Everyday Things (Links to an external site.) (Link will open in new tab.), Donald Norman, (ebook)

Contemporary and Critical Art Historical Online Collections

• ArtxHistory: an inclusive framework for an open, equitable art history.

Primary & Secondary Source Research in the Arts

• Smithsonian Archives of Amercian Art
• The Getty Institute
• The NYPL Art & Architecture Library Guide to Researching an Artist
• Art Historian Ann McClanan explains the differences in Primary and Secondary Arts in art history research. (6 min video).

Databases for Arts Research

• Art History Research Guide

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Library Info Chat
 

Library Resources for ARTH 201 - Art History III

Refer to the Art History Research Guide for biographical Search, image search in references sources and databases. 

Art for  the Digital Age

About Citations for Images

Image Citation using Chicago:

"According to the Chicago Many of Style (17th ed.) information about the image, whether it is a photograph, painting, or other work of art, can be presented in the text and not in a note or bibliography.  However, if a citation is required, citing an image in Chicago style requires you to include much of the same information you would include in citing a print resource like author(s)/editor(s), title of image, and publication date. Chicago style dictates a different citation format depending on whether the image is from an electronic resource or published photograph."

Bibliography:

Author Surname, First Name or Initial. Image Title. Year. Medium. size. Museum or place image is, Location, URL. 

More Information

• Citing Primary Sources in Chicago This link opens in a new window (Library of Congress)
• How do I cite an image? This link opens in a new window (CMOS Shop Talk)

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Request Scans from books or print journals

Library Info Chat

Library Resources for ARTH 602 - Aesthetics and Theory:

eBooks & Essays

Comic Propaganda Pages - Log In with @nyit.edu google account

This is not propaganda, Chapter 3 & 4 - Log In with @nyit.edu google account

‘Nature and Function of Critical and Creative Thinking’ (ebook)
'Fact Over Fake; A Critical Thinker's Guide to Media Bias and Political Propaganda' (ebook)
'How to Read a Paragraph, the Art of Close Reading' (ebook)
'A Thinker's Guide to Ethical Reasoning' (ebook)

Propaganda, Bernays, Edward L., 1891-1995 (ebook)

The Age of Spiritual Machines : When Computers Exceed human Intelligence, Kurzweil, Ray (ebook)

Fake News, Propaganda, and Plain Old Lies : How to Find Trustworthy Information in the Digital Age,  Barclay, Donald A. (ebook)

Problem Solving and Critical Thinking for designers, Piotrowski, Christine M (ebook)

How Propaganda Works, Stanley, Jason (ebook)

Living with Robots, Dumouchel, Paul (ebook)

Playing Smart : on Games, Intelligence and Artificial Intelligence, Togelius, Julian (ebook)

The Curious Person's guide to fighting Fake News, McAfee, David G.(ebook)

The Myth of Artificial Intelligence : Why Computers Can't Think the Way We Do, Larson, Erik John (ebook)

Bad News : Why We Fall for Fake News, Brotherton, Rob (ebook)

Disinformation and You : Identify Propaganda and Manipulation, Jones, Marie D. (ebook)

Ethics in Design and Communication : critical perspectives, Scherling, Laura (ebook)

LaGarde, J. Fact vs. Fiction : Teaching Critical Thinking Skills in the Age of Fake News,

Bostrom, N. Superintelligence : Paths, Dangers, Strategies (ebook)

Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance : An Inquiry Into Values, Pirsig, Robert M. (ebook)

The Singularity is Near : When Humans Transcend Biology, Kurzweil, Ray (ebook)

AI : its Nature and Future, Boden, Margaret A. (ebook)

Books in Print

Real World AI: A Practical Guide for Responsible Machine Learning, Alyssa Rochwerger 

The Quest for Artificial Intelligence : A History of Ideas and achievements, Nilsson, Nils J.

Artificial Intelligence : An Illustrated History : from Medieval Robots to Neural Networks, Pickover, Clifford A. 

McFarland, E. Blockchain Wars: The Future of Big Tech Monopolies and the Blockchain Internet, 

Artificial Intelligence: 101 Things You Must Know Today About Our Future - Updated Edition for Post-Covid-19 World, \ Rouhiainen, L

This is Not Propaganda : Adventures in the War against Reality, Pomerantsev, Peter (on order)

Comic Art Propaganda : a Graphic History, Strömberg, Fredrik (PN6714 .S77 2010)

New York Times  (* Register for free access to the NYTimes.com here using your NYIT email address)

Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers

• Wall Street Journal (* Register for free access to the WSJ.com here using your NYIT email address)
• Washington Post
• Times, The (London, UK)
• Financial Times (Full-Text Delay: 1 month)
• Search across newspapers with the News and Media Databases

 Image Credit: L. Kaufmann.

 back to Architecture Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Request Scans from books or print journals

Chat with a Librarian

Research Tips for the Compressive Structure Report:

1. Gathering background information from specialized encyclopedias and reference ebooks.

2. Refer to in-depth and case studies information across ebooks and journal articles

3. Cite your sources using the citation generators and OWL purdue.

1. Specialized Encyclopedia and Reference Sources:

Articles provide an overview and information on built works with the structural design. Follow the articles and references. 

2. Examples of Three Works from eBooks and Journal Articles

3. Cite Your Sources in MLA format. 

Example Reference Article:

Goode, Patrick. "arch." The Oxford Companion to Architecture. : Oxford University Press, , 2009. Oxford Reference. Date Accessed 23 Oct. 2023 

Example Ebook Entry:

1. Möller, Eberhard. Manual of Structural Design : Structural Principles - Suitable Spans - Inspiring Works, Detail Business Information GmbH, The, 2022. ProQuest Ebook Central, https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/nyit-ebooks/detail.action?docID=6963509.

2. Tanner, Jennifer Eisenhauer, and Richard E. Klingner. Masonry Structural Design, Second Edition. 2nd edition., McGraw-Hill Education, 2017. 

Example: Journal Article:

Effective Paraphrasing:

 to Interior Design Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Request Scans from books or print journals

Library Info Chat

Required and Suggested Texts:

see Also Evidence Based Design on the Interior Design Guide

 back to Interior Design Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Chat with a Librarian

Human-centered design, Anthropometrics, and Neufert’s principles

1. Gathering background information from encyclopedic overviews such as Oxford Art Online and Credo Reference.
2. Refer to in-depth information across books and journals
3. Gather additional visuals from digital humanities sources

Encyclopedic Sources

Indepth Knowledge: Books & eBooks

Images & Primary Source Collections

Notable Museum Collections

Reference: Julius Panero, and Martin Zelnik. 1979. Human Dimension and Interior Space : A Source Book of Design Reference Standards. New York: Watson-Guptill. 

return to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Library Spaces & Hours

For your class

• Course Reserves 
• Assignment Driven Research Tutorials including topics such as Precedent Search, Image Search, Mapping, Primary/Secondary/Tertiary Sources, Search Strategy, Organizing Research, Writing Citations, Structures
• Librarians Discussion Guests in CanvasLMS answer research questions and demonstrate research skills.  
• Align with ACRL Information Literacy,  ARLIS/NA Art Libraries Information Competencies and the ACRL Visual Literacy Framework

Publishing Resources 

• Update your Researcher Profile 
• Guide to Publishing Directions from Librarian E. Rivera
• Research Consultations

Collection Development

• Recommend additions to the Library Collections

• Share your syllabus so that the collection reflects what you teach.

Database Highlights within the Discipline

• Detail Inspiration
• Material ConneXion (Database and Materials Library on Liberty Street)

Borrow Technology

• SLR Cameras 
• AV / GoPros, VR Headsets, Tablets. 
• MacBooks, Ipads and
• Vibe Touchscreen
• Virtual Reality Workstation - HTC Vive with STEAM VR
• SPARE Arts 

Follow: @nyitart_arch_library    @nyitlibrary

Apps and Extensions to Download

• Now behind campus OKTA MFA