Architecture & Design

Professional Associations

• ABC - American Builders and Contractors 

  Associated Builders and Contractors (ABC) is a national construction industry trade association with 69 chapters representing more than 21,000 members. ABC's members represent all specialties in the construction industry and are primarily firms that perform work in the industrial and commerical sectors.

• ACCE - American Council for Construction Education 

  The mission of ACCE is to be a leading global advocate of quality construction education; and to promote, support, and accredit quality construction education programs.

• AGC - Associated General Contractors 

  Based in Washington, D.C., the Associated General Contractors of America, with members in building construction, federal/heavy construction, highway and transportation construction, and utility construction, has over 27,000 member firms.

• AIC - American Institute of Contractors 

  This society of construction professionals offers online courses, conferences, webinars, and certification exams.

• American Institute of Steel Construction 

  This site has information on certification in steel construction. It also has a ePub and free ePub collection of technical information. Some is available to members and some is available to anyone.

• American Institute of Timber Construction 

   American Institute of Timber Construction (AITC) was founded in 1952 to be the national trade association for the structural glued laminated timber (glulam) industry.

• American Subcontractors Association (ASA) 

  Members include subcontractors, specialty contractors and suppliers.

• American Wood Council 

  It is nationally recognized technical authority and advocate for the sustainable wood building products industry in the codes, standards, legislative, regulatory, and climate policy arenas.

• CSI - Construction Specifications Institute 

  CSI is a national not-for-profit association of more than 6,000 members dedicated to improving the communication of construction information throughout continuous development and transformation of standards and formats, education and certification of professionals to improve project delivery processes.

• Institute for Building Technology and Safety (IBTS) 

  IBTS was part of the National Conference of States on Building Codes and Standards (NCSBCS) and operated under cooperative agreements with the Council of State Governments (CSG) and the National Governors Association (NGA) to provide technical services, education, and training to enhance the public’s social and economic wellbeing through safe, durable, affordable, accessible, and efficient buildings.

• Mechanical Service Contractors of American (MCAA) 

  Members of MCAA include approximately 2,600 firms involved in heating, air conditioning, refrigeration, plumbing, piping, and mechnical service.

• Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute (PCI) 

  To provide value to members by maintaining and protecting the technical integrity of precast concrete, promoting its increased use as a high-quality construction material, and enhancing members’ businesses.

Government Resources

• Bidding on Federal Construction Projects 

  From the U.S. General Services Administration (GSA) website.

• Construction Industry 

  This Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) website was designed to assist those in the construction industry to identify, reduce, and eliminate construction-related hazards.

• United States Census Bureau - Construction Spending 

  This site, "Value of Construction Put in Place at a Glance," provides monthly estimates of the total dollar value of construction work done in the United States. View the most current release and historical releases.

Industry News & Podcast

• Construction Leading Edge Podcast 

  Covers topics from leadership to construction technology. It helps provide the tools and resources to grow leadership skills, business and income.

Building Materials 

• MateriaDistricts 

  A collection of 2600 innovative materials in the Netherlands.

• The AZo Materials 

  Materials information source for the engineering and design community.

• MatWeb 

  Material property data.

• Archello Materials 

  News and postings of innovative materials for design.

• ArchDaily Materials 

  A searchable database of materials provided by the online magazine ArchDaily.

• Materials Science News 

  News on developments in materials science from Science Daily.

• Materials News from Material Lab (UK) 

  Material Lab is a design resource studio and materials library in London, created especially by UK based specialists in ceramic and porcelain tile design and supply Johnson Tiles in 2006

Building Products

• ARCAT 

  Online resource of building product information. Includes specifications, BIM, CAD, and/or details for over 7,000 products.

• AEC Info 

  Source of Building Products Information for Online resource for Architecture/Engineering/Construction professionals.

• Sweets 

  The Sweets directory of building product information can be searched by manufacturer, product, or product type.

• Sustainable Materials Management Comprehensive Procurement Guideline (CPG) Program 

  Includes a Product Directory

• THOMASNET 

  THOMASNET is an industrial search engine of products, services, and their suppliers. Line-item product details and CAD drawings are available.