Architecture & Design

The following sections guide your research into mono-functional ainfrastructure:

1. Library Instruction Session Outline
2. Related Readings & Media
3. Recommended Archives and Digital Collections
4. Research Consultations
5. Publishing and Distributing Thesis Books

Part I - Mono Typologies and Case Study Research Practice

Introduction to Architectural Archives and Historiography 

Objectives:  

• Review types of Sources (Tertiary, Secondary, Primary).

• Define and discuss architectural archives, what they are, how to locate and search for information within them. 

• Define historiography as a critical lens for evaluating architectural archives. 

• Discover and search archives relevant to the mono-functional infrastructures.

Exercise:

1. Each group chooses 1 search term from the typological or case study related terms search hedges below. Select 1 or more books from the search results. 

2. Identify one or more citation/endnote/bibliography entry within the source.

3. Locate that primary source for related information.

Linked related terms lead to subtopics, meant as a starting point and not exhaustive bibliographic references. After this exploratory research, determine and refine the research question.  

Related Search Terms:  

Adaptive Reuse 

Architecture, Industrial 

Buildings—Remodeling for other use 

Buildings—Repair and reconstruction 

Industrial buildings—Influence 

industrial sites (libraries worldwide) 

(Mono-functional OR monofunctional) Infrastructure 

Tertiary Sources

Tertiary sources combine information and related topics. Summarize one or more bodies of knowledge on a topic. Point to the commentary and original primary sources.

Examples:

• Ready Reference Databases
• Credo Reference
• Oxford Reference

TIPs: 

Review background research in specialized encyclopedic works;
Follow the trail of bibliographies/endnotes found in those sources;

Secondary Sources

Written after the fact, in response to, or including analysis of an original writing, artwork, design plan or building.

• Interpret, Critique, or Explain Primary Sources
• Found in scholarly and editorial journals. Search across databases such as the Library Catalog, Academic Search Complete, Avery, and Google Scholar

Example: Dunn, Sarah, and Martin Felsen. 2019. “Behind the Wheel: Charles Darwin and Superstudio Do the Driving.” Architectural Design 89 (4): 94–99. doi:10.1002/ad.2462. (Article includes analysis of Superstudio ideas (secondary source) and explains new plans (primary).

Primary Sources

An original source plan proposal or study, documentation from the original event; original plans and drawings, personal correspondence, works of art, historical newspaper articles,

Finding primary sources, 

• [NAME] + [PRIMARY SOURCE FORMAT]
• Example Search Terms: Jane Jacobs letters; Archigram Archives
• Searches for: 'architect' archives; digital collections, museum collections

Example: Tange, Kenzo. 1987. “A Plan for Tokyo, 1986.” Japan Architect 62 (November): 8–45. 
"The article presents a proposal for the structural reorganization of the Coastal City of Tokyo and Tokyo Bay City in Japan. ...The author states that the proposal was developed in cooperation with commissions from government agencies and from the city of Tokyo. "

Discussion: This is a journal. Why is it a primary source?

Finding Primary Sources on the Web

• Digital Collections from museums, large universities, public libraries like the
  • NYPL and
  • LOC
• Internet Archive
• Digital Public Library of America
• Municipal Archives and Historical Societies Ex: NYC Municipal Records Tax Photographs
• Contact local Historical Societies

Library Databases with Images and Media

Newspapers 

• National through Local newspaper databases

Architectural Archives

•  Partial List of Architectural Archives from CMU Library

• TIP: Person + Archive OR Person + Papers Ex: Robert Moses Archive

Browser Plugins for Academic Research

• LibKey Nomad

Add this extension to your browser to connect web searches to full text subscriptions behind paywalls.

• Google Scholar PDF Reader

Summarize articles and find connected papers.

• Download Zotero and Zotero Connector for sorting and annotating academic sources. 

See Also

Notable New York Metro Area Projects

• Maker-Park
• AIA - About Maker Park

Architectural Archives and Documentation Collections: 

• HABs example: grain elevator. Grain, Rail Yard, Food Factory, Steel Mill, Shipyard,  

Identify literature and case studies about specific mono-industrial case studies,

Example Search: (To be completed then demo by VV)

Exercise:

1. Begin by searching in the catalog and databases for analysis and interpretations of your site (Secondary Sources).

2. Follow references within for one or more primary sources.

3. Observe and Present one of these primary sources. (ie, the image collection, or the article citation.)

About Post-Industrial Landscapes

KIRKWOOD, Niall. 2020. “Brownfield Borders: Post-Industrial and Post-Conflicting Brownfield Landscapes.” Landscape Architecture Frontiers 8 (1): 128. https://doi.org/10.15302/J-LAF-1-050015.