Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New York Tech Returns: What to know about using New York Tech Libraries for Fall 2022. View the latest information

Library Course Guides for the School of Architecture & Design: Course Guides & Workshops

Library Course Guides for the School of Architecture & Design

School of Architecture & Design Course Guides

Libraries Support Success in your Courses: FALL 2022

AIDD 160, ARCH 161 & 162ARCH 201/202 | ARCH 362ARCH 401ARCH 501/502

ARTH 602 |

 

AAID 160 | ARCH 162

See also, 

ARCH 201 / 202

back to the Architecture & Design Research Guide 

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

 Chat with a Librarian  

 

 

ARCH 201/202 Library Tutorial and Readings Guide:

Part I: Library Refresh 

Guide overview; Wifi; Printing; Stay in Touch; Upcoming Library Events; ACE Course Module (5 min)

Part II: About this Reading List

Print books on the Reserve Shelves;  Electronic Books; Journal Articles (5 min)

Part III: Exercise 1 Architecture Analysis Research 

Long Island / OW Sections:

OPEN the WORKSHEET which includes: Example Searches from Arch History; Groups I - IV; Effective Keywords; How to Read Search Results for Journals (database records); Books (Locations and Shelf/Call Numbers) and Images; Evaluate the Sources; Retrace your Steps with Permalinks and Citations 

Venturi, Robert. Complexity and Contradiction in Architecture, The Museum of Modern Art and, New York, 1966
Reserve Shelf #: NA2760 .V46 1977

Eisenman, Peter The Formal Basis of Modern Architecture, Lars Müller Publishers, 2006
Reserve Shelf #:  NA2500 .E39 2006 

Wittkower, Rudolf, Architectural Principles in the Age of Humanism…WW Norton 1971 [orig.1949]
Reserve Shelf #:  NA1115 .W56 1998

Rowe, Colin, “Mathematics of the Ideal Villa” in The Mathematics of the Ideal Villa and Other Essays, MIT Press, 1976.
Reserve Shelf #: NA7110 .R68

Miralles, Enric with Eva Prats “How to Lay Out a Croissant”, in El Croquis 49/50 Enric Miralles/Carme Pinos, Madrid, 1991. 

Rossi, Aldo. The Architecture of the City 
Reserve Shelf #: NA9031 .R6713 1984

Argan, Carlo Giulio "On The Typology of Architecture" in Nesbitt, Kate ed. Theorizing a New Agenda for Architecture..., 1996 
Reserve Shelf #: NA680 .T45 1996

Damisch, Hubert, “The Column and The Wall”, in AD Profiles: 21 Leon Battista Alberti, guest editor Joseph Rykwert, Architectural Design Vol. 49, No. 5-6, London (1979). 

Schumacher, Thomas L. The Danteum, Princeton Architectural Press, 1980 
Reserve Shelf #: NA2707.T466 A4 1993

Panofsky, Erwin Perspective as Symbolic Form, Zone Books, New York 1995 (orig. 1924-1925) 
Shelf #: NC750 .P2313 1991

Carpo, Mario The Alphabet and the Algorithm, Writing Architecture, MIT 2011

Hofstadter, Douglas R. Gödel, Escher, Bach: an eternal golden braid, Basic Books, New York, 1979

Allen, Stan, “Field Conditions”, Points + Lines, 1985
Reserve Shelf #:

Krauss, Rosalind and Ives Alain Bois Formless A Reader's Guide, Zone Books 1997

Tehrani, Nader, "On The Abstraction of Information and the Tectonics of Materials", Life In:Formation, Sprecher, Yeshayahu, Lorenzo-Eiroa, ACADIA 2010, New York. pdf available for download at http://www.e-architects.net/PUBLICATIONS.htm

Damisch, Hubert, “The Column and The Wall”, in AD Profiles: 21 Leon Battista Alberti, guest editor Joseph Rykwert, Architectural Design Vol. 49, No. 5-6, London (1979).

Schumacher, Thomas L. The Danteum, Princeton Architectural Press, 1980e
Reserve Shelf #:     NA2707.T466 A4 1993

SEARCH Modern Steel Construction Magazine (https://www.aisc.org/modernsteel/) is a great source for steel framed buildings. 

ARCH 272

ARCH 301 - Campani

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Request Scans from books or print journals

Library Info Chat

 

Library Resources for ARCH - 301 

Looking for additional readings? Search the Tech Library Catalog or Libraries Worldwide.

 

Books on Reserve

Richard Plunz, History of Housing in NYC on Reserve in Ed Hall and Manhattan Libraries

Roger Sherwood, Modern Housing Prototypes on Reserve in Ed Hall and Manhattan Libraries

Hilary French, Key Urban Housing of the 20th Century on Reserve in Ed Hall and Manhattan Libraries

General Arts Research and Research Management

ARCH 361 - Renaissance Arch and Representation

ARCH 401 - Integrative Design V

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Request Scans from books or print journals

Library Info Chat

Library Resources for ARCH 401:

Building Systems | Structural Materials | Building Skins

Search the Library Catalog to locate books/ebooks from the bibliography. Expand your search by considering the broader/narrower/related linked keywords. Select and Search multiple databases to locate records that point to articles written in professional/trade journals such as Detail Magazine, Architecture Design, A+U, case studies, and books. Expand the search across ebooks database platforms such as Acess Engineering (ie, timber), GreenFile, and CuminCad Search Materials across databases and websites.

Timber Construction Details

Steel Construction Details

Concrete Construction Details
https://bit.ly/libraryARCH401 (log in with @nyit.edu)

ARCH 473 - CM Contracts

ARCH 481 - Professional Practice

ARCH 501 / 502 Thesis 2021-2022 - Fall 2022

ARCH 705 - Cody

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Request Scans from books or print journals

Library Info Chat

Still image from Video attachment to the ICRA 2018 paper:
Accurate and Adaptive In situ Fabrication of an Undulated Wall using
an
On-Board Visual Sensing System Various clips during the construction of the steel wire mesh are shown.

Library Resources for ARCH 705 - Cody

SCANNED READINGS and RESEARCH OUTPUT for THIS COURSE  (be sure to login with @nyit.edu)

DATABASES:


EBOOKS and JOURNALS: 

CITATIONS:

  • Citation formats differ by course and by journal requirements. Pay close attention to citation formats when writing proposals.
  • Consult the Citation Guide

Public Libraries provide additional resources:

 

DSGN 204

DSGN 362

DSGN 483

ARTH 201 - Kaufmann

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Request Scans from books or print journals

Library Info Chat
 

Library Resources for ARTH 201 - Art History III

Looking for additional readings? Search the Tech Library Catalog or Libraries Worldwide.

 

Databases 

Academic Search
Art & Architecture  Source
Credo Art Reference
Oxford Art Online

About Citations for Images

Image Citation using Chicago:

"According to the Chicago Many of Style (17th ed.) information about the image, whether it is a photograph, painting, or other work of art, can be presented in the text and not in a note or bibliography.  However, if a citation is required, citing an image in Chicago style requires you to include much of the same information you would include in citing a print resource like author(s)/editor(s), title of image, and publication date. Chicago style dictates a different citation format depending on whether the image is from an electronic resource or published photograph."

Bibliography:

Author Surname, First Name or Initial. Image Title. Year. Medium. size. Museum or place image is, Location, URL. 

More Information

About Artist Influencers

Biographical sketches (Oxford Art Online, Bridgeman Art Library) - and topic finder. 
Art Movements (more Oxford, high-quality websites)
Specific Artworks (ArtStor, Google Arts & Culture, large museum online collections)

Museum Collections Online

Google Arts & Culture

Louvre

National Gallery of Art

Metropolitan Museum of Art

ARTH 602 ' Aesthetics and Theory' - Kaufmann

back to Architecture & Design Library Research Guide

Search Library Collections

 Schedule a Research Appointment with a Librarian

Request Scans from books or print journals

Library Info Chat

 


 

Library Resources for ARTH 602 - Aesthetics and Theory:

Looking for additional readings? Search the Tech Library Catalog or Libraries Worldwide.

 

eBooks & Essays

Comic Propaganda Pages - Log In with @nyit.edu google account

This is not propaganda, Chapter 3 & 4 - Log In with @nyit.edu google account

‘Nature and Function of Critical and Creative Thinking’ (ebook)
'Fact Over Fake; A Critical Thinker's Guide to Media Bias and Political Propaganda' (ebook)
'How to Read a Paragraph, the Art of Close Reading' (ebook)
'A Thinker's Guide to Ethical Reasoning' (ebook)

Propaganda, Bernays, Edward L., 1891-1995 (ebook)

The Age of Spiritual Machines : When Computers Exceed human Intelligence, Kurzweil, Ray (ebook)

Fake News, Propaganda, and Plain Old Lies : How to Find Trustworthy Information in the Digital Age,  Barclay, Donald A. (ebook)

Problem Solving and Critical Thinking for designers, Piotrowski, Christine M (ebook)

How Propaganda Works, Stanley, Jason (ebook)

Living with Robots, Dumouchel, Paul (ebook)

Playing Smart : on Games, Intelligence and Artificial Intelligence, Togelius, Julian (ebook)

The Curious Person's guide to fighting Fake News, McAfee, David G.(ebook)

The Myth of Artificial Intelligence : Why Computers Can't Think the Way We Do, Larson, Erik John (ebook)

Bad News : Why We Fall for Fake News, Brotherton, Rob (ebook)

Disinformation and You : Identify Propaganda and Manipulation, Jones, Marie D. (ebook)

Ethics in Design and Communication : critical perspectives, Scherling, Laura (ebook)

LaGarde, J. Fact vs. Fiction : Teaching Critical Thinking Skills in the Age of Fake News,

Bostrom, N. Superintelligence : Paths, Dangers, Strategies (ebook)

Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance : An Inquiry Into Values, Pirsig, Robert M. (ebook)

The Singularity is Near : When Humans Transcend Biology, Kurzweil, Ray (ebook)

AI : its Nature and Future, Boden, Margaret A. (ebook)

Books in Print

Real World AI: A Practical Guide for Responsible Machine Learning, Alyssa Rochwerger 

The Quest for Artificial Intelligence : A History of Ideas and achievements, Nilsson, Nils J.

Artificial Intelligence : An Illustrated History : from Medieval Robots to Neural Networks, Pickover, Clifford A. 

McFarland, E. Blockchain Wars: The Future of Big Tech Monopolies and the Blockchain Internet, 

Artificial Intelligence: 101 Things You Must Know Today About Our Future - Updated Edition for Post-Covid-19 World, \ Rouhiainen, L

This is Not Propaganda : Adventures in the War against Reality, Pomerantsev, Peter (on order)

Comic Art Propaganda : a Graphic History, Strömberg, Fredrik (PN6714 .S77 2010)

New York Times  (* Register for free access to the NYTimes.com here using your NYIT email address)

Journals, Magazines, and Newspapers

 Image Credit: L. Kaufmann.

General Arts Research and Research Management

Librarian

Profile Photo
Sebastien Marion
Contact:
New York City Campus Library
1855 Broadway
New York, NY, 10023
646.273.6102
Website
© 2022 New York Institute of Technology