Architecture & Design

Art & Architecture Library News - Winter 2023

Please take a moment to read this essential News and Information from the Art & Architecture Library, 

Notable New Titles

We continually refine and update the collections based on recommendations, academic programs, and currency. We ask you to continue requesting new information sources for the libraries, sharing your syllabus, or speaking with a librarian about your emerging research interests. Architecture Library Student staff participate in collection development by examining diversity celebrations and selecting recent publications.  Newly acquired in the collections:

Kumbh Mela  (2015) Coded: Art Enters the Computer Age, 1952-1982  (2023)       Interior Provocations (2023)                 Drawing in the Present Tense  (2022)

Architectural Drawings As Investigating Devices by Marianna Charitonidou ISBN: 9781000896626 Publication Date: 2023 Impacts of Future Weather and Climate Extremes on United States Infrastructure (2021)             African Modernism  (2023)

Feminist city : claiming space in a man-made world (2023)             Artek and the Aaltos (2022)             Robust architecture : low tech design (2023)

New York Tech Library and the School of Architecture and Design now provide the library subscription database DETAIL Inspiration*. This resource offers over 4,000 building project documentations, spanning 35 years from DETAIL magazine. It encompasses key articles from various editions of DETAIL magazine, including DETAIL: Green, DETAIL: Inside, and DETAIL: Structure. | 

DETAIL Inspiration alongside the Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals*,  Art & Design Databases*,  Research Guides, and the Book Collections remain vital tools for research in architecture, interiors and material design. You and your students will find this curated and up-to-date content in an intuitive interface and wide international coverage. Search the database using filters such as building type, construction method, material, location, or year of construction. Each project entry includes detailed documents available for download in PDF format. For questions or comments regarding this or any other library services, visit the Libraries or askalibrarian@nyit.edu.

When searching Material Connexion, you can learn about the properties of various types of materials and search for physical materials using filters like their sustainability, impact resistance, availability, and processing. This databases supports product ideation by finding and recommending materials that enhance performance, aesthetic, and sustainability. 
Two ways to explore and investigate the Material ConneXion Library,

*Login with your New York Tech username and password for 24/7 remote access. 

By the Numbers

This Fall 2023 semester, the Art & Architecture Library continued supporting the School of Architecture and Design academic programs and faculty research, collection development, research consultations and class sessions.

• 208 Long Island and 215 New York City School of Architecture and Design students in 29 class participated in library instruction sessions. Topics covered included search strategy, locating materials, locating and evaluating mapped data, crediting sources, and organizing research.  Faculty and adjuncts are encouraged to request a Library Instruction for research based assignments seminar or studio courses. Instructions sessions take place in the library, studio, or virtual environments.
• 11 students attended research consultations for a 1 on 1 meeting with an Architecture Librarian.

• 2097 Library Guides sessions. Guides for Architecture, Art History, Interior Design, Community Research and Mapping curated to assist students in finding accurate information. 

Pilot Program - Measuring Research Impact

• Citations and Altmetrics help us measure research impact on new knowledge creation. Learn more in the library guides Faculty Publishing and Researcher Profiles. Interested faculty and adjunct instructors to schedule a research consultation for case study development.

Library in Your Pocket

• Download  this mobile library apps guide compiled by Emily Mejia, Architecture Library Student Staff.  Learn about the New York Public Library and Institutional Access to the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal.

Intersession Library Hours

• January 2nd - 16th, 2024, the Art & Architecture Library in Education Hall will be open Monday - Thursday 9am - 5pm. Virtual service 9am - 5pm Friday. Closed Saturday and Sunday.
• Visit the nyit.edu/library for complete hours and locations.

New York Tech Library News

• We need your Feedback. Please complete this brief survey. 

• Read the Latest Library Newsletter
• Updates from the New York Tech Libraries Strategic Action Plan
• We welcome your feedback concerning the Art & Architecture Library, Art & Architecture collection in New York City Library, and online library collections. We wish everyone a restful holiday season.
• Architecture Library News Archives

We wish you a peaceful holiday season.